Founder’s & Vigeant Award Winners Announced at Annual Meeting

Sharon & Gerry Annual Meeting PolaroidThe Annual Meeting for the Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad and Industrial Heritage Trust was held on Saturday, April 25th at the Spring Meadows Golf Club and Banquet Center in Gray. It was a well-attended event with an informative presentation by Maine Historian and former state representative Herb Adams. The three candidates elected to the Board of Trustees for three year terms were announced and included returning Trustees, Sharon Hickey, Arthur Hussey and John Marr.

The Founder’s Award was presented to Gerry Bagley for his longtime and outstanding volunteer service.  The award is presented to an individual who, over the years, has made a significant contribution of time, knowledge, commitment, skills and dedication to the operation and the success of the organization.

The second annual Dick Vigeant Award was given to Roger Merrow (who was unable to attend) for his quietly consistent and industrious service.  The award is dedicated to an individual who quietly goes about their volunteer service, contributing to the organization’s success while remaining in the background.

Special thanks to our generous sponsors who helped make the event possible including – Gray Shop ‘n Save, MEMIC, Norway Savings Bank, Gray New Gloucester Development Corporation and an anonymous railroad friend.  Thanks also to the many members who were able to attend.

Photo of Board President Sharon Hickey presenting the Founder’s Award to Gerry Bagley – Courtesy of Tsukroff Photography